Top PA Workers’ Compensation Attorneys

If you or a loved one have been injured at work or sustained an injury while performing your work duties, call an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer at Munley Law. Our law firm has over 50 years of experience helping victims of work-related injuries.

We helped to make many of the laws that protect workers’ compensation victims in Pennsylvania.  We are simply the best workers’ compensation attorneys in Pennsylvania.  Our lawyers have been selected as the Best Lawyers in America by our peers, and  Caroline Munley and Julia Munley have been commended  for their work on behalf of claimants injured on the job.

James Christopher Munley was recently named Workers’ Compensation Lawyer of the Year by Best Lawyers, 2016. best workers comp lawyer

We Have 50+ Years of Experience Helping People Injured At Work

Workplace injuries can be frightening, and you need help navigating the legal process.  Workers’ compensation benefits are designed to pay for medical expenses and lost wages when you suffer a work-related injury or contract a disease which is aggravated by the work you perform. However, many workers’ compensation claims are denied because the process is confusing and workers who are struggling to recover may not include the right information in the right way for a reviewer to approve.  Our workers’ compensation attorneys have decades of experience handling these types of cases, and we remain abreast of the latest changes being made to Pennsylvania employment laws. We welcome your questions, and we will help you navigate the entire process to make sure that you get the benefits you deserve.

Recent Workers’ Compensation Settlements

$325,000.00  –  Low back injury requiring multiple surgeries
$265,000.00 – A worker who suffered a lumbar sprain
$250,000.00 – An injury resulting in a double amputation above the knee
$165,000.00 – An employee who suffered a  shoulder sprain
$130,000.00 – A work injury resulting in low and upper back, shoulder, and neck sprain
$128,832.00 – An ankle fracture sustained at work
$125,195.20 – A neck and back injury sustained on the job
$120,000.00 – A low back sprain that occurred at work
$106,000.00 – An injury resulting in a torn rotator cuff
$100,000.00 – A work injury that aggravated an existing knee injury
$100,000.00 –
An employee who sustained a finger fracture at work

Let Munley Law Help You with Your Work Injury Lawsuit

If your claim for workers’ compensation has been denied, you should seek a work injury lawyer immediately. The team at Munley Law can evaluate your claim to determine whether you are missing any documentation or paperwork that can impact the success of your claim. Often, simple decisions such as which medical provider to visit can affect your claim. We have a dedicated team of workers’ compensation lawyers and paralegals ready to help you file your claim for benefits.  We can help you navigate the process of getting your medical bills from your workplace accident paid and help you to find out how much your workers’ compensation wages should be.  Our work accident attorneys can also help you determine whether your disease is work-related and whether any old injuries have been aggravated by your recent work accident.  See the answers to the Most Frequently Asked Questions about work-related injuries.

Contact Us for a Free Evaluation of Your PA Workers’ Compensation Claim

Our workers’ compensation team knows and understands what you are going through.  We have worked for thousands of people who have been hurt on the job.  We truly care about our clients and we are here to help you and your family.   Come in for a FREE consultation and case evaluation for your work accident injury. It’s easy. You can call us at 844-686-5397 or simply click here for our online form and a member of our work accident injury team will get back to you right away. We do not get paid unless we obtain benefits for you.

Workers’ Compensation Client Testimonials

“Without Caroline Munley, I’m not sure where I would be. After cutting off the tip of my finger at my construction job, I was worried that my career would be at risk. But Ms. Munley reassured me that filing a workers comp claim doesn’t mean I would lose my job. She was with me every step of the way and helped me get back on my feet again. Now I’m back on the job and it’s all thanks to her help!”

-Maggie, a Workers’ Compensation Client


“About 5 months ago, I had injured my back after lifting a heavy box at work. My employer refused to submit my claim even though the doctor had said the injury was caused by the action. I turned to Caroline Munley for help and I’m glad that I did. She walked me through filing my claim and helped me get the money to pay for my medical bills. I don’t know where I would be without her. Thank you, Ms. Munley!”

-Lisa, a Workers’ Compensation Client

Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: I’ve been in an accident at work, what’s the first thing I should do?

A: Right after any accident, no matter how minor it may seem, you should immediately report your injury to your supervisor and make sure that a written record is made. After you report your injury, you will receive calls from insurance adjusters asking for details. Do not allow yourself to be pressured to sign away your Workers’ Compensation rights by an insurance company. In fact, never sign any insurance document until a lawyer has reviewed it first. Also, you should seek legal advice before undergoing any medical examinations requested by an insurance company. Without realizing it, you may be waiving some very important legal rights.

Q: Am I covered under workers’ compensation?

A: Almost every PA employee is covered under the Workers’ Compensation Act. This includes all full-time, part-time, and seasonal workers. Nearly all businesses, no matter how big or small, are required to have workers’ compensation insurance. Workers in certain  industries may be covered under different compensation laws specific to that particular industry, such as railroad or shipyard workers. However, if you work on a volunteer basis, or are an independent contractor, you may not be considered an employee and therefore may not be covered.

Q: Is there a statute of limitations for workers’ compensation cases?

A: Under Pennsylvania law, notice of any injury suffered must be provided to a supervisor at your place of employment within 120 days of the date of injury. Failure to tell your employer can result in your claim being denied, so it is very important that you make the report immediately after the accident. Keep in mind that to be successful, any workers’ compensation case must be filed no later than three years from the date of injury or disability.

If you or a family member suffer from a disease that was contracted during your employment (such as Black Lung disease from working in a coal mine, or mesothelioma due to asbestos exposure), the laws are a bit different.  According to Pennsylvania law, the disease and inability to work must occur within 300 weeks from the date you were last employed in the job where you contracted the disease.

Q: Can I choose my own doctor?

A: For the first 90 days of medical care, you are required to choose from a list of doctors provided by your employer. Your employer must give you at least six doctors to choose from, and your employer cannot choose for you. If your employer does not provide a list of options, you are free to choose your own. You may also choose another doctor from the list if the first doctor selected is unsatisfactory.

If you require treatment beyond 90 days, you then have the option to choose your own doctor. If, after 90 days,  you do decide to choose a doctor not on your employer’s list, you must notify your employer within five days after your first visit.

Q: How much will I be compensated?

A: Your compensation will depend on whether you are totally or partially disabled. If you are totally disabled by your work injury and are unable to work at all, you are entitled to weekly benefits equal to about  two-thirds of your weekly pay, or a maximum of $951, as of 2015. This number changes yearly.  After two years, your disability status may be reviewed. At this time, if you are no longer at least 50% disabled (based on American Medical Association guidelines) your disability will convert to a partial disability. A partial disability that reduces your ability to work and your earning capacity may be compensated by a weekly amount that is two-thirds the difference between your present earnings and what you earned prior to the injury. You may receive these partial disability benefits for 500 weeks or for as long as you are working at the lower wage.

Q: When will I receive workers’ compensation payments?

A: As long as you are not denied compensation, you should begin receiving benefits approximately 21 days after you reported your injury to your employer.

 Q: What should I do if my workers’ compensation claim is denied?

A: It is not uncommon for an insurance company to deny a workers’ compensation claim. If you are denied workers’ compensation, you have three years from the date of your injury to file a claim with the Bureau of Workers’ Compensation. In this case, it is best to hire a lawyer who is familiar with the entire claims process and who knows the intricacies of workers’ compensation laws. The right lawyer will be instrumental in ensuring that you receive the compensation you deserve.